Under-16 Coca-Cola Grant Khomo Week kicks off in Riversdale
July 07, 2009
The 2009 edition of the annual Under-16 Coca-Cola Grant Khomo Week kicked off at the Oakdale High School in Riversdale on Monday.

Eighteen teams will participate in this Week with each of the fourteen South African Rugby Union (SARU) provinces represented by one team with the exception of the Blue Bulls, Border and SWD unions, who will each send two sides to the competition. An Under-16 team from Namibia will also participate at the Riversdale event.

“The Youth Weeks are a time to get together and strengthen our playing talent at this crucial age group. This is where the foundation of SA Rugby lies,” said SARU CEO Johan Prinsloo at the opening of the Under-16 Coca-Cola Grant Khomo Week.

“The Coca-Cola Youth Weeks have a special place in the hearts of all South Africans who care about the future of rugby. These tournaments give rugby experts the ideal opportunity to cast an eye over our enormous emerging talent for the future.”

The national selectors will indentify 50 Under-16 players to form part of the SA National Under-16 High Performance Squad. This High Performance Squad will attend a High Performance Training Camp in Cape Town in September.

“Those players who have made it to the various selected Under-16 and Under-18 squads will ultimately form part of SA Rugby’s High Performance Programme and will receive the necessary assistance through their junior rugby careers,” said SA Rugby High Performance Manager, Herman Masimla.

“All these structures have been put in place to ultimately ensure that we produce the finest junior rugby players in the world who will eventually become Springboks and represent their country one day at Test level.”

Further details on the High Performance Programs will be work-shopped at the Coca-Cola Under-16 Grant Khomo and Coca-Cola Under-18 Youth Weeks.

Day One (1) Results:

SWD 23 Pumas 12

Blue Bulls 0 Eastern Province 6

Western Province 12 Kwazulu-Natal 0

Free State 31 Golden Lions 9

Namibia 7 Leopards 24

Border 5 Griquas 6

Valke 0 Limpopo 21

Boland 17 Griffons 6

SWD XV 20 Border Country Districts 7