Pumas wallop Limpopo 154-0
Michael Todt
April 13, 2013

Right-winger Danwel Demas ran in four tries as the Steval Pumas humiliated the Limpopo Blue Bulls by a score of 154-0 (halftime 70-0) in their Vodacom Cup clash at the Mbombela Stadium in Nelspruit on Saturday.

The hosts were simply ruthless as they amassed a total of 22 tries, and the duo of Jaco Bouwer and fullback JW Bell wrapped up hat-tricks of their own.

The clinical display was mirrored in the kicking department too, as the combination of Carl Bezuidenhout and JC van Wyk were successful with all 22 conversion attempts – each player bagging 22 points for the afternoon.

Loosehead Corne Fourie began the carnage in the very first minute when he forced his way under the posts to get the scoring under way. It needed just 19 minutes for the home side to secure the bonus point, as Demas crossed the whitewash for his first of the day to help the score to 28-0.

Zander Byleveldt’s missed penalty midway through the first half was the closest the visitors came to getting on the board, and the Pumas enjoyed an astonishing 70-point lead at the break after a further three tries.

The unstoppable procession continued throughout the second half, and Bouwer was the first to get his hat-trick as he dotted down in the 51st minute. Demas claimed his third four minutes later, and his try took the score past the century mark.

The fourth came for Demas in the 65th minute amidst his team’s ruthless assault. Fullback Bell eventually secured a hat-trick of his own three minutes from the end, before the final try from substitute Drew van Coller in injury time took the score past 150 to round off an emphatic win.

The Vodacom Cup newcomers will be left battered and bruised from the mauling, and remain on zero points in the North Section standings.

The rampant Pumas, meanwhile, picked up their fifth successive win, and can now look forward to a home semifinal as they extended their lead at the top of the log to seven points.


Steval Pumas – Tries: D Demas (5), C Fourie (3), JW Bell (3), F Herne (2), RW Kember, A Scott, J Pretorius, D Terblanche, C le Roux, R Bothma (2), E van der Walt, D van Coller; Conversions: C Bezuidenhout (11), C van Wyk (11)