Steyn to lead The Sharks in Bloemfontein
February 20, 2013
Frans Steyn will lead The Sharks into battle in Bloemfontein on Saturday as the former Free State schoolboy wears the captain's armband for the first time in Super Rugby.

Ryan Kankowski, back from a six month stint in Japan, starts at eighthman alongside fellow loose forwards Jacques Botes and Marcell Coetzee. Lions loan player, Franco van der Merwe, starts at lock and partners Anton Bresler in the second row.

Young Cobus Reinach starts at scrumhalf ahead of experienced Charl McLeod, but no real surprises in the rest of the backline with Pat Lambie at flyhalf, Steyn partnering Paul Jordaan in the midfield, Springboks JP Pietersen and Lwazi Mvovo out wide and Louis Ludik completing the line-up at fullback.

The Sharks team is:

1. Tendai Mtawarira
2. Craig Burden
3. Jannie du Plessis
4. Anton Bresler
5. Franco van der Merwe
6. Jacques Botes
7. Marcell Coetzee
8. Ryan Kankowski
9. Cobus Reinach
10. Patrick Lambie
11. Lwazi Mvovo
12. Francois Steyn (Captain)
13. Paul Jordaan
14. JP Pietersen
15. Louis Ludik
16. Kyle Cooper
17. Wiehahn Herbst
18. Pieter-Steph du Toit
19. Jean Deysel
20. Charl McLeod
21. Meyer Bosman
22. Odwa Ndungane