Four players added to Springbok squad
September 22, 2012
Four players have been called up to the Springbok squad of 30 for the final two Tests of The Castle Rugby Championship, in South Africa against Australia and New Zealand.

The four new faces in the squad who did not tour to Australasia, are the uncapped MTN Golden Lions duo of Jaco Taute (utility back) and Elton Jantjies (flyhalf), their experienced provincial team mate CJ van der Linde (prop) and Coenie Oosthuizen (prop) from the Toyota Free State Cheetahs.

“I’d always wanted to include Jaco in the squad but an untimely injury meant we could not select him earlier. Jaco is big, strong, fast and versatile and it will be good to get him involved,” said Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer.

“Elton was part of the squad before this season, against England in June and in the first part of The Castle Rugby Championship. He only missed out when we had to cut the numbers of the squad and it’s good to have him back.

“CJ, who took part in our training camps earlier in the season, brings a lot of experience to our pack and he is no longer injured. Apart from being the second most experienced prop in Springbok history, after Os du Randt, he is versatile and can play loosehead and tighthead.

“And it’s great to have Coenie back with us after he picked up an injury on debut in the first Test against England in June. He is a world class prop and losing him was a big setback.”

Meyer added only two scrumhalves had been selected for the Tests, which meant Jano Vermaak misses out. The national selectors felt that Vermaak is familiar with the game plan and can easily be brought back in should his services be required.

The following players, who were part of the squad earlier in the season, were not considered for selection because of injury: JP Pietersen, Bjorn Basson, Pierre Spies, Siya Kolisi, Chiliboy Ralepelle and Bismarck du Plessis.

Commenting on the final two Tests of The Castle Rugby Championship, Meyer said: “There were a number of positives we took from the matches in Perth and Dunedin and it is imperative that we build on those.

“The Tests against Australia and New Zealand won’t be easy – the All Blacks are unbeaten this year and the Wallabies have done well to win their last two matches, so we will have to be at our best at Loftus Versfeld and Soccer City.

“But I’m happy with the progress we’ve made on tour and the big challenge will be to now take the next step as we grow as a team.”

The Springbok squad for The Castle Rugby Championship Tests against Australia and New Zealand in South Africa is:

Willem Alberts (The Sharks) - 15 Test caps
Andries Bekker (DHL Western Province) - 27
Craig Burden (The Sharks) - 0
Pat Cilliers (MTN Golden Lions) - 3
Marcell Coetzee (The Sharks) - 7
Juan de Jongh (DHL Western Province) - 10
Jean de Villiers (captain, DHL Western Province) - 79
Jannie du Plessis (The Sharks) - 37
Eben Etzebeth (DHL Western Province) - 6
Johan Goosen (Toyota FS Cheetahs) - 2
Bryan Habana (DHL Western Province) - 81
Francois Hougaard (Vodacom Blue Bulls) - 22
Elton Jantjies (MTN Golden Lions) - 0
Zane Kirchner (Vodacom Blue Bulls) - 19
Juandré Kruger (Vodacom Blue Bulls) - 5
Pat Lambie (The Sharks) - 15
Tiaan Liebenberg (DHL Western Province) - 3
Francois Louw (Bath, England) - 12
Tendai Mtawarira (The Sharks) - 39
Lwazi Mvovo (The Sharks) - 7
Coenie Oosthuizen (Toyota FS Cheetahs) - 1
Ruan Pienaar (Ulster, N Ireland) - 58
Jacques Potgieter (Vodacom Blue Bulls) - 3
Frans Steyn (The Sharks) - 53
Morné Steyn (Vodacom Blue Bulls) - 41
Adriaan Strauss (Toyota FS Cheetahs) - 16
Jaco Taute (MTN Golden Lions) - 0
CJ van der Linde (MTN Golden Lions) - 73
Flip van der Merwe (Vodacom Blue Bulls) - 18
Duane Vermeulen (DHL Western Province) - 2