WP, Blue Bulls in main match at U13 Craven Week
June 28, 2012
Western Province and the Blue Bulls will have the honour on Friday of playing in the final match of the 41st Coca-Cola Under-13 Craven Week in Bloemfontein after both sides recorded third successive wins on Thursday at the Free State Stadium.

WP beat the Valke 17-0 in Thursday's main match, while the Blue Bulls overcame giant-killers SWD 28-5. The only other team unbeaten going into Friday's final round, which reverts to Grey College, are Griquas, who beat KZN 11-5. There were also wins on day three for Boland, Griffons, Leopards, Border Country Districts, Namibia and Free State.

In Thursday's main match, WP eighthman Zakareeyah Salie, who scored a hat-trick of tries in his team's 45-0 drubbing of the Leopards on Tuesday, opened the scoring in the seventh minute against the Valke. Two further tries, both to centre Xolani Masembathe, and a conversion from flyhalf Henry Chamberlain completed the scoring in an unexpectedly one-sided contest.

The Bulls were far too strong for SWD, running in four tries against the side who had shocked hosts Free State in the main match of the opening day on Monday. The Free Staters, in turn, shook off successive defeats to record their first win of the tournament, 34-0 over Zimbabwe in the day's first match.

Friday's Fixtures – Day 4 (Grey College):

09h00 – Border vs Limpopo
09h00 – Zimbabwe vs Pumas (B field)
09h50 – KZN vs EP
09h50 – Namibia vs Border CD (B field)
10h40 – Griffons vs Leopards
10h40 – Free State vs Lions (B field)
11h30 – Boland vs SWD
12h20 – Griquas vs Valke
13h10 – WP vs Blue Bulls

Thursday's Results – Day 3 (Free State Stadium):

Zimbabwe 0
Free State (22) 34 – Tries: Sibusiso Khumalo, Ronaldo Davids (3), Janco van Heyningen, Jaap van Zyl. Conversions: Dillan Schultz, Conraad Kuun.

Pumas (7) 7 – Try: Stephan van der Bank. Conversion: Trent Askew.
Namibia (10) 10 – Tries: Warren Ludwig, Roaldo Rittman.

Border CD (7) 19 – Tries: Zama Tikipeni, Mava Makhalima, Alive Matose. Conversions: Vuyo Mriti, Unathi Mbuku.
Lions (5) 5 – Try: Larko Lindes.

Border (0) 5 – Try: I Smit.
Leopards (17) 24 – Tries: Zandre van der Berg, Steven Rossouw (2), Lohann Jahns. Conversions: Louis van Schalkwyk (2).

Limpopo 0
Griffons (7) 22 – Tries: Tresor Wilondja, Stefan Diniso, JW Viljoen, GJ Burger. Conversion: George Spershott.

Boland (10) 22 – Tries: Thaakir Abrahams, Francke Horn, Charl Janson. Conversions: Keagan Lee Whitten. Drop goal: Janson.
EP (5) 12 – Tries: Unan Tayt, Jordan Blewitt. Conversion: Blewitt.

Griquas (3) 11 – Try: Juan-Ray Cloete. Penalties: Rikus Pretorius (2).
KZN (0) 5 – Try: Jacobus Truter.

Blue Bulls (7) 28 – Tries: Juandre du Piesani, Johan van Zyl, Jaco Labuschagne (2). Conversions: Werner Nel, Charles Goedhals (3).
SWD (5) 5 – Try: Chaunton Prins.

Valke 0
WP (5) 17 – Tries: Zakareeyah Salie, Xolani Masembathe (2). Conversion: Henry Chamberlain.