SA Women fine tune Dubai preparations
November 25, 2011
The SA Sevens Women rugby team leave for Dubai from Johannesburg on Sunday to play in next weekend’s inaugural IRB-sanctioned tournament. The squad of twelve assembled in Johannesburg this morning ahead of their departure to the UAE.

South Africa will be joined in the women's draw by Australia, Canada, England, Brazil, China, USA and Spain and will compete for the IRB Women’s Sevens Challenge Cup, which is being played alongside the second round of the HSBC Sevens World Series.

Dubai has so far proved to be a favourite venue for the South African Women players. Two years ago the Sevens team lost a close World Cup semi-final match against eventual winners Australia in the desert city, while last year the Test team scored their first away series against Scotland and Kazakhstan at the same venue.

SA Women’s coach Denver Wannies said a tough challenge awaits his team, but that they have prepared well for this outing.

“The players are really looking forward to this international challenge and the opportunity to play a couple of matches against the top nations. We hope to keep the momentum we gained in Botswana last month, but we also realise that Dubai will be a much tougher ask,” explained Wannies.

The training squad who spent a week preparing in Cape Town was reduced to 12 players and will again be led by regular captain, Mandisa Williams.

The following players were selected for the SA Women Sevens to participate in Dubai from 1-3 December 2011:

Yolanda Meiring (Blue Bulls), Mandisa Williams, Lamla Momoti, Ziyanda Tywaleni, Nwabisa Ngxatu, Sinazo Nobele (Border), Zandile Nojoko, Phumeza Gadu, Zenay Jordaan, Nomathamsanqa Faleni (Eastern Province), Nombulelo Mayongo (Griffons), Aimee Barrett (Western Province).

FNB Varsity Shield presented by Steinhoff International
Monday, February 02 2015
16:45 - FNB UWC vs FNB UKZN
UWC Sport Stadium, Bellville
19:00 - FNB TUT vs FNB UFH
TUT Stadium, Pretoria
HSBC Sevens World Series New Zealand
Friday, February 06 2015
01:00 - South Africa vs France
Westpac Stadium, Wellington
01:21 - USA vs Japan
Westpac Stadium, Wellington
01:42 - Australia vs Wales
Westpac Stadium, Wellington
02:03 - Fij vs Portugal
Westpac Stadium, Wellington
02:24 - Argentina vs Kenya
Westpac Stadium, Wellington
02:46 - Scotland vs Samoa
Westpac Stadium, Wellington
03:08 - New Zealand vs Canada
Westpac Stadium, Wellington
03:30 - England vs Papa New Guinea
Westpac Stadium, Wellington

Copyright 2011 - SARU. All Rights Reserved.