EP crowned women’s champions for 2011
September 13, 2011
Eastern Province won their fourth women’s interprovincial championships when they defeated the Blue Bulls by 29-18 in the final in Pretoria on Saturday.

The team from Port Elizabeth lead by 10-8 at the break and turned up the pressure in the second half. By winning the final, EP made up for their home defeat of 43-13 against the Bulls earlier in the season.

According to Mahlubi Puzi, manager of women’s rugby at SARU, the standard of rugby this season was exceptionally high.

“It was a great season and one we won’t forget soon. The fact that EP could come back from their big defeat earlier in the season to the Blue Bulls to clinch the title, shows their resolve. It was a superb final with rugby of the highest standard played and it bodes well for the future of women’s rugby in South Africa,” said Puzi.

EP outside centre Pumeza Gadu, who also plays for South Africa, scored three tries in the final for the winning team, while flanker Sindiswa Mathanda scored the visitors’ fourth try. Zandile Nojoko added a conversion and a penalty goal, with Siphosethu Tshingana adding two further conversions.

The Blue Bulls’ points came via tries by Marlien Cronje and Demi Britton, with Cindy Cant adding two penalty goals and a conversion.

In the B-section final, also played at Loftus Versfeld on Saturday, the Pumas were too strong for the Leopards and won convincingly by 51-20, scoring nine tries to four.

The Pumas’ tries were scored by Anezwa Nkosi, Alicia Mathebula (2), Sesina Selepe (2), Lina Sibuloane (2) and Hleziphi Letsiela (2). Sibuloane added three conversions.

For the Leopards, Spook Loggenberg, Thabisa Ngqolosi, Welmarie Wessels and Carina Kruger, who also captains the side, all scored one try each.

Cell C Community Cup
Monday, April 21 2014
09:15 - Old Selbornians vs Centurion
Outeniqua Park, George
11:30 - Despatch vs Roses United
Outeniqua Park, George
13:45 - College Rovers vs Hamiltons
Outeniqua Park, George
16:00 - Impala vs Roodepoort
Outeniqua Park, George
Vodacom Super Rugby
Friday, April 25 2014
07:35 - Blues vs Waratahs
Eden Park, Auckland
09:40 - Brumbies vs Chiefs
GIO Stadium, Canberra
Vodacom Cup
15:00 - Blue Bulls vs Limpopo Blue Bulls
Loftus Versfeld B, Pretoria
15:00 - Valke vs Griffons
Barnard Stadium, Kempton Park
16:30 - Sharks XV vs EP Kings
Growthpoint KINGS PARK, Durban
Inter Provincial Women A
17:00 - South Western Districs vs Border

Copyright 2011 - SARU. All Rights Reserved.