North against South in final of women's competition
September 18, 2012
Western Province will battle against the Blue Bulls for the SARU Women’s Inter-Provincial Championship rugby crown on Saturday at the Theo Marais Stadium in Milnerton. Blue Bulls Limpopo and Mpumalanga will contest the B-section final.

The WP women will play in only their second national final after the side managed to wrestle the provincial crown away from Eastern Province in 2010. The Pretoria-based team will contest their fifth final and will be looking to add another title to their four successful attempts so far.

A Victory for the northern side will thus see them claim a record fifth provincial title.

EP, for long the dominant force in South African Women’s rugby, failed to qualify for the semi-finals for the first time, having won the crown between 2007 – 2009 and again in 2011.

Last week, the Cape side secured a home final after their comprehensive 51-10 win over Free State. The Blue Bulls proved too strong for KwaZulu-Natal and scored a deserved 24-0 victory to advance to the final.

WP must be considered the favourites to land their second title. Apart from the home-ground advantage, the Capetonians also had the better of both EP and the Bulls in their league encounters earlier this year.

The Blue Bulls will be looking towards veteran Springbok Women Yolanda Meiring, running out in the number 10 jersey, fullback Veronica Malantswane and prop Ilse van Staden to provide the spark for them. Former SA Women’s Player of the Year Natasha Hofmeester, playing on the wing, attacking fullback Aimee Barrett and livewire scrumhalf Cherné Roberts are the key players for Province.

Absa Under 19 Competition
Friday, September 19 2014
15:00 - Golden Lions U19 vs Sharks U19
Ellis Park, Johannesburg
15:00 - Border U19 vs Griquas U19
BCM Stadium, East London
Absa Under 21 Competition
16:40 - Golden Lions U21 vs Sharks U21
Ellis Park, Johannesburg
Absa Currie Cup First Division
17:00 - Border Bulldogs vs Leopards
BCM Stadium, East London
Inter Provincial Women A 1
19:00 - Border vs Western Province
BCM Stadium, East London
Absa Currie Cup Premier Division
19:10 - Xerox Golden Lions vs Steval Pumas
Ellis Park, Johannesburg
Absa Under 19 Competition
Saturday, September 20 2014
10:45 - WP U19 vs EP Kings U19
City Park Stadium, Cape Town
11:00 - Leopards U19 vs Blue Bulls U19
Profert Olen Park, Potch
11:00 - SWD U19 vs Boland U19
Outeniqua Park, George
11:20 - Valke U19 vs Griffons U19
Barnard Stadium, Kempton Park

Copyright 2011 - SARU. All Rights Reserved.