Border makes Women’s Interprovincial history
September 22, 2013
The Border Women’s team on Saturday earned their place in history by lifting the Women’s Interprovincial trophy for the first time since the competition’s inception in 2003.

The team registered an emphatic 41-8 victory against defending champions Western Province at the Buffalo City Municipal Stadium in East London to win the title in what was their second home final, while Griquas defeated the Limpopo Blue Bulls 39-20 to win the B Division final.

Border entered their clash as narrow favourites with home ground advantage and their strong defence counting in their favour.

Western Province, meanwhile, had to undertake the journey by road to East London, which may have contributed to their disappointing display.

External factors aside, Border delivered a glittering all-round performance, as their attack and defence came together in a display worthy of lifting the trophy.

So dominant was the East London team they racked up an impressive seven tries, while allowing Western Province to cross their tryline only once.

As if that were not enough all the Cape side’s points were scored in the first half, with the home team controlling proceedings in the second half.

In the B Division final, log-leaders Griquas delivered a solid first-half display against defending champions, the Limpopo Blue Bulls, to work their way into a morale-boosting 24-5 lead at the break.

They continued to build on their strong attack in the second half and increased their try tally to seven.

But despite this, the Limpopo Blue Bulls fought back strongly and managed to run in four tries.

Unfortunately for the Limpopo side, however, their efforts were in vain as Griquas attack proved too strong on the day.

Women’s Interprovincial final results:

Border 41 – 8 Western Province (A Division final)
Griquas 39 – 20 Limpopo Blue Bulls (B Division final)

FNB Varsity Shield presented by Steinhoff International
Monday, February 02 2015
16:45 - FNB UWC vs FNB UKZN
UWC Sport Stadium, Bellville
19:00 - FNB TUT vs FNB UFH
TUT Stadium, Pretoria
HSBC Sevens World Series New Zealand
Friday, February 06 2015
01:00 - South Africa vs France
Westpac Stadium, Wellington
01:21 - USA vs Japan
Westpac Stadium, Wellington
01:42 - Australia vs Wales
Westpac Stadium, Wellington
02:03 - Fij vs Portugal
Westpac Stadium, Wellington
02:24 - Argentina vs Kenya
Westpac Stadium, Wellington
02:46 - Scotland vs Samoa
Westpac Stadium, Wellington
03:08 - New Zealand vs Canada
Westpac Stadium, Wellington
03:30 - England vs Papa New Guinea
Westpac Stadium, Wellington

Copyright 2011 - SARU. All Rights Reserved.