Scene set for thrilling Women’s Interprovincial Final
September 19, 2013
The Women’s Interprovincial Final between Border and Western Province is expected to unfold into a spectacle at the BCM Stadium in East London on Saturday as the teams put their bodies on the line for the title.

Western Province boasts the bragging rights as defending champions, while Border will look to earn their place in the history books by winning their first Interprovincial title.

Should Western Province emerge victorious, it will not only mark back-to-back titles for the talented Cape side, it would also represent their third title since the competition’s inception in 2003.

But history will have no significance when the teams meet, as both sides have been in fine form this season and come off convincing victories in their respective semifinals.

They also both have a handful of Springbok Women’s players who are high on confidence after thumping Uganda 63-3 in East London two weeks ago to book their place in the 2014 Rugby World Cup in France and these ladies will be expected to lead by example.

With their sights set firmly on making the most of their home ground advantage, Border have loaded their side with seven players who featured in Springbok Womens’ match-23 named in the squad – five of whom are in the starting lineup.

They include Springbok Women’s captain Mandisa Williams, star scrumhalf Fundiswa Plaatjie, looseforward Nwabisa Ngxatu and prop Asithandile Ntoyanto.

Western Province, meanwhile, will rely heavily on their Springbok Women, Natasha Hofmeester, Laurian Johannes, Veroeshka Grain and Andrea Mentoor to provide leadership and guidance as they go in search of back-to-back titles.

The teams have been closely matched this season, although Western Province have scored two more tries than their East London counterparts, while the home team will take comfort from the fact that they have leaked three less tries than the Cape side.

Western Province will also draw motivation from the fact that they were the only team to beat Border in the round-robin stages of the series.

In the B Division final, defending champions the Limpopo Blue Bulls will meet Griquas as a curtain-raiser to the A Division final.

Griquas will enter the clash as favourites as they have won more matches this season and finished the pool stages as the top team. But the Limpopo Blue Bulls will take confidence from their convincing 52-34 victory when the teams met during their round-robin stages in Kimberley.

Women’s Interprovincial fixtures:

13h00 – Griquas vs Limpopo Blue Bulls (B Division Final)
15h00 – Border vs Western Province (A Division Final)

2015 Community Cup Qualifying - Valke Peregrine League
Tuesday, July 29 2014
20:00 - Springs vs Vaal Reefs (Leo)
Olympia Park, Springs
Absa Under 19 Competition
Friday, August 01 2014
13:45 - Blue Bulls U19 vs Free State U19
Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria
15:15 - Sharks U19 vs Golden Lions U19
Woodburn Stadium, Pmbg
Absa Under 21 Competition
15:30 - Blue Bulls U21 vs Free State U21
Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria
IRB Women's Rugby World Cup
15:45 - Australia vs South Africa
Marcoussis 1, Paris, France
Absa Under 21 Competition
17:00 - Sharks U21 vs Golden Lions U21
Woodburn Stadium, Pmbg
2015 Community Cup Qualifying - Limpopo Boet Fick & Waterberg Leagues
20:00 - Potgietersrus vs Northam
2015 Community Cup Qualifying - Border Super League
21:00 - Old Selbornians vs All Blacks
Kempston Park, East London
Absa Under 19 Competition
Saturday, August 02 2014
11:00 - Leopards U19 vs EP Kings U19
Profert Olen Park, Potch
Vodacom Super Rugby
11:40 - Waratahs vs Crusaders
ANZ Stadium, Sydney

Copyright 2011 - SARU. All Rights Reserved.