Ruthless Madibaz end on a high
March 19, 2012

The FNB TUT Vikings' nightmare Varsity Cup season came to an unhappy end with another hiding, as FNB NMMU took the two sides' final league match of the season by the scruff of the neck early on to run up a 37-5 half-time lead that became a 12-try drubbing of 90-34 by the end.

NMMU, having their best season yet in the history of the FNB Varsity Cup presented by Steinhoff International, scored twelve tries of which fullback Gert Smith converted nine from eleven attempts to add to his try for a personal tally of 32 points.

Centre Quinton Crocker scored a hat-trick for the winners and lively flanker André Goosen got a brace with their captain Jaco Swanepoel - who even chipped in with a cheeky conversion - again claiming the honours as the Player that Rocks.

Both sides ran the ball at virtually every opportunity.

The result was a match without much structure but with some scintillating running and some great individual efforts, as depicted by the 17 tries in all scored by the two teams.

Although TUT gave it their all until the very end, their forwards were generally not up to the challenge.

However, behind their struggling pack scrumhalf Nico Smuts and his flyhalf Hansie Graaff were the architects of some threatening moves from a side that was outplayed from the start. Fullback Hagan Mumba also impressed and the backline must be lauded for their first bonus point of the season as they ran in five tries - four in the second half.

The visitors posted their fourth try for a bonus point in the 26th minute when centre - and vice-captain - Quinton Crocker went over for his second of three tries. With fullback Gert Smith slotting four of the first five tries, the score mounted to 37-5 after only 31 minutes.

That was the half-time score after the two sides were tied after nine minutes with TUT's try coming through tighthead Zandré Grobler when the home side still had some fight in them up front.

The scorers:

For the FNB TUT Vikings: Tries: Grobler, Kotze, Graaff, De Beer, Mare. Cons: Van Loo 3

For FNB MMU: Tries: Goosen 2, Crocker 3, Ndwandwa, Jacobs, Godfrey, Verster, Smith, Van Niekerk, Swanepoel. Cons: Smith 9, Swanepoel

The teams:

TUT: 15 Hagen Mumba, 14 Thabo Mangena, 13 Rikus de Beer, 12 Koos Kotze, 11 Ruan van Loo, 10 Hansie Graaff, 9 Nico Smuts, 8 Wikus Botes (captain), 7 Yves Basiya, 6 Tinus van Wyk, 5 Ewald Maree, 4 Gavin Engelbrecht, 3 Zandre Grobler, 2 Nathi Sethusi, 1 Dandre van der Westhuizen.
Replacements: 16 Juan Kotze, 17 Nico van den Heever, 18 Kapena Joel, 19 Vusi Mbonani, 20 Nico Smuts, 21 Quinton van Greunen, 22 Craig van Rooi, 23 Ryno van Rooyen.

NMMU: 15 Gerrit Smith, 14 Beast Ndwandwa, 13 Quinton Crocker (vice-captain), 12 Howard Mnisi, 11 Eckard Jacobs, 10 Martin du Toit, 9 Anton Verster, 8 Jaco Swanepoel (captain), 7 André Goosen, 6 Ulrich Pretorius, 5 Mzwanele Zito, 4 Schalk Oelofse, 3 Dexter Fahey, 2 Martin Ferreira, 1 Roy Godfrey.
Replacements: 16 Kobus Greeff, 17 Gareth Hartley, 18 Timothy Agaba, 19 Thomasau Forbes, 20 Carl van Niekerk, 21 Bradley Kretzman, 22 Devon Lailvaux, 23 Phillip Nell.

Referee: Tiaan Jonker

Absa Under 19 Competition
Friday, September 19 2014
15:00 - Golden Lions U19 vs Sharks U19
Ellis Park, Johannesburg
15:00 - Border U19 vs Griquas U19
BCM Stadium, East London
Absa Under 21 Competition
16:40 - Golden Lions U21 vs Sharks U21
Ellis Park, Johannesburg
Absa Currie Cup First Division
17:00 - Border Bulldogs vs Leopards
BCM Stadium, East London
Inter Provincial Women A 1
19:00 - Border vs Western Province
BCM Stadium, East London
Absa Currie Cup Premier Division
19:10 - Xerox Golden Lions vs Steval Pumas
Ellis Park, Johannesburg
Absa Under 19 Competition
Saturday, September 20 2014
10:45 - WP U19 vs EP Kings U19
City Park Stadium, Cape Town
11:00 - Leopards U19 vs Blue Bulls U19
Profert Olen Park, Potch
11:00 - SWD U19 vs Boland U19
Outeniqua Park, George
11:20 - Valke U19 vs Griffons U19
Barnard Stadium, Kempton Park

Copyright 2011 - SARU. All Rights Reserved.