SA U20 aiming for convincing Namibia performance
May 10, 2013
The SA Under-20 team will be aiming for a convincing performance against the senior Namibia side when the two teams clash at 14:50 on Saturday at the Paul Roos Markötter Stadium in Stellenbosch.

It will be the last outing for the Junior Springboks before they head off to France where they will defend their IRB Junior World Championship title next month in France.

The squad spent the past week in Cape Town in preparation for the match, but they will have to make do without the services of several first-choice players who have all been ruled out of action because of injury. Jan Serfontein, Sergeal Petersen, Handré Pollard and also Dries Swanepoel will all watch the encounter against Namibia from the sidelines.

Despite the absence of Pollard, Serfontein (both 2012 JWC winners) and the elusive Petersen SA U20 coach, Dawie Theron, can still rely on the attacking skills of Springbok Sevens stars Seabelo Senatla and Justin Geduld as well as Cheslin Kolbe (DHL Western Province).

The SA U20 backline was in good form in Argentina recently, helping the team to score 12 tries against the Los Pumitas, despite losing the annual series between the two teams 2-1. Theron will especially hope that his forwards will be able to compete aggressively against a Namibian side who will pose a huge physical challenge upfront.

The SA players return to their respective provinces on Sunday and will assemble again on 26 May before flying out to France three days later.

The South Africa Under-20 team:

15. Cheslin Kolbe (DHL Western Province)
14. Luther Obi (Leopards)
13. Justin Geduld (SARU contracted)
12. Rohan Janse van Rensburg (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
11. Seabelo Senatla (SARU contracted)
10. Robert du Preez (The Sharks)
9. Stefan Ungerer (The Sharks)
8. Aidon Davis (EP Kings)
7. Jacques du Plessis (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
6. Ruan Steenkamp (Vodacom Blue Bulls, captain)
5. Dennis Visser (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
4. Irne Herbst (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
3. Marne Coetzee (The Sharks)
2. Jacques du Toit (Toyota Free State Cheetahs)
1. Andrew Beerwinkel (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
16. Sti Sithole (DHL Western Province)
17. Mike Willemse (DHL Western Province)
18. Jannes Kirsten (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
19. Roelof Smit (Vodacom Blue Bulls)/Kwagga Smith (MTN Golden Lions)
20. Percy Williams (MTN Golden Lions)
21. Sylvian Mahuza (Platinum Leopards)
22. Jacques Rossouw (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
23. Luhan de Bruin (Toyota Free State Cheetahs)

FNB Varsity Shield presented by Steinhoff International
Monday, February 02 2015
16:45 - FNB UWC vs FNB UKZN
UWC Sport Stadium, Bellville
19:00 - FNB TUT vs FNB UFH
TUT Stadium, Pretoria
Pre-Season Friendlies
Thursday, February 05 2015
07:30 - Melbourne Rebels vs Highlanders
Harlequin Rugby Club
21:50 - Toulon vs Sharks
Stade Felix-Mayol
HSBC Sevens World Series New Zealand
Friday, February 06 2015
01:00 - South Africa vs France
Westpac Stadium, Wellington
01:21 - USA vs Japan
Westpac Stadium, Wellington
01:42 - Australia vs Wales
Westpac Stadium, Wellington
02:03 - Fij vs Portugal
Westpac Stadium, Wellington
02:24 - Argentina vs Kenya
Westpac Stadium, Wellington
02:46 - Scotland vs Samoa
Westpac Stadium, Wellington

Copyright 2011 - SARU. All Rights Reserved.