SA Schools and SA Academy Teams Announced
July 16, 2011
The South African Rugby Union (SARU) on Saturday announced the players selected to the SA Schools and SA Academy Teams for 2011. These squads will compete in two international friendlies against a France Invitational squad in August.

Click here to access Craven Week video highlights

Golden Lions U18 captain Ruan Steenkamp will captain the SA Schools team which includes nine players that competed in the final match of the Coca-Cola Under-18 Craven Week at GWK Park in Kimberley.

The SA Schools Team will be coached by the Pumas U18 coach Poerie van Rooyen while Eastern Province Kenneth Joseph was named as the Assistant coach. Gert Tsotetsi (Valke) was named as the Team Manager of the SA Schools side for 2011.

The SA Academy team will take on the French Invitational XV in a curtain raiser to the Castle Tri-Nations match between the Springboks and Australia in Durban on the 13 August 2011. The SA Schools team will play the second international friendly against the French in Port Elizabeth in the curtain raiser match in preparation of the Springbok’s clash against the All Blacks at the Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium on the 20 August 2011.

Golden Lions flanker Willie Newman will captain the SA Academy team which includes the talented Western Province centre paring of Edwin Sass and John Kotze. The Eastern Province and Golden Lions U18 Academy teams makes up the bulk of the 22-man squad while the successful WP Under-18 Academy team boasts four players in the squad.

The SA Academy Team will be coached by the Blue Bulls U18 Academy coach Bart Schoeman while Griquas’ Joseph Jafta named as the Assistant coach. Dean Moodley (KwaZulu Natal) was named as the Team Manager of the SA Academy side for 2011.

The Free State U18s claimed the top honours at the 2011 Coca-Cola Under-18 Craven Week following their 28-17 victory against the Golden Lions U18s in the last match played at GWK Park in Kimberley. The Griffons U18s, together with the Bloemfontein team, were the only two undefeated teams of the tournament. The team from Welkom secured a 34-28 victory over the Valke in a fixture played on the B Field at GWK Park.

The Pumas consigned DHL Western Province to their second defeat of the Coca-Cola Under-18 Craven Week following their 39-34 victory over the Cape team, while the KwaZulu Natal failed to stop the challenge of the Blue Bulls who went on to claim a 29-8 win in the penultimate match of the day.

SA Schools Team for 2011:


Dries Swanepoel (v/c) (Free State)
Jaco van der Walt (Golden Lions)
Jan Serfontein (Free State)
Nhlanhla Hlongwane (Free State)
Percey Williams (South Western Districts)
Ruwellyn Isbell (Free State)
Sean Robinson (Blue Bulls)
Siyabonga Tom (KwaZulu Natal)
Timothy Swiel (Western Province) Tyler Fisher (KwaZulu Natal)


Andrew Beerwinkel (Boland)
Eugene Le Maitre (Golden Lions)
Irne Herbst (Blue Bulls)
Jacques du Plessis (Pumas)
Leneve Damens (Free State)
Marne Coetzee (Blue Bulls)
Morne du Plessis (Blue Bulls)
Philip du Preez (Golden Lions)
Pierre Schoeman (Blue Bulls)
Ruan Steenkamp (captain) (Golden Lions)
Sikumbuzo Notshe (Western Province)
Thabo Mabuza (Blue Bulls)

Head Coach: Poerie van Rooyen (Pumas)
Assistant coach: Kenneth Joseph (Eastern Province)
Team Manager: Gert Tsotetsi (Valke)

SA Academy Team for 2011:

15. Lorenzo Baaitjies (Eastern Province)
14. Gideon Meiring (Golden Lions)
13. Edwin Sass (Western Province)
12.John Kotze (Western Province)
11. Suprise Mayekiso (Golden Lions)
10. Dalton Kannemeyer (Western Province)
9. Cyprial Mkhabela (KwaZulu Natal)
8. Niklaas Rossouw (Boland)
7. Malcolm Marx (Golden Lions)
6. Willie Newman (Golden Lions)
5. Armand du Preez (Eastern Province)
4. Stefan Vermeulen (Golden Lions)
3. Bart le Roux (Eastern Province)
2. Chadley Wenn (Boland)
1. Matthew Jones (KwaZulu Natal)


16. Hewson Petersen (Western Province)
17. Siwa Mandlakhe (Eastern Province)
18. Luan de Bruin (Blue Bulls)
19. Tienie Burger (Free State)
20. Balunga Mbangi (Eastern Province)
21. Damian Engledoe (Boland)
22. Linden Rhode (South West Districts)

Head Coach: Bart Schoeman (Blue Bulls)
Assistant coach: Joseph Jafta (Griquas)
Team Manager: Dean Moodley (KwaZulu Natal)

Vodacom Super Rugby
Friday, May 29 2015
09:35 - Crusaders vs Hurricanes
Trafalgar Park, Nelson
11:40 - Brumbies vs Vodacom Bulls
GIO Stadium, Canberra
19:10 - Cell C Sharks vs Rebels
Growthpoint KINGS PARK, Durban
Saturday, May 30 2015
09:35 - Highlanders vs Chiefs
Rugby Park, Invercargill
11:40 - Force vs Reds
nib Stadium, Perth
Vodacom Cup
14:10 - Western Province vs Pumas
DHL Newlands Rugby Stadium, CT
Vodacom Super Rugby
17:05 - DHL Stormers vs Toyota Cheetahs
DHL Newlands, Cape Town
19:10 - Emirates Lions vs Waratahs
Emirates Airline Park, Johannesburg
IRB Junior World Championship
Tuesday, June 02 2015
16:30 - Ireland vs Argentina
Stadio Sergio Lanfranchi, Parma
16:30 - France vs Wales
Stadio San Michele, Calvisano

Copyright 2011 - SARU. All Rights Reserved.