Youth and experience for Bulls against Sharks
February 12, 2014
Vodacom Bulls coach Frans Ludeke will look at his next generation Vodacom Bulls players to deliver the goods in the Vodacom Super Rugby season after he named a youthful looking side to face the Cell C Sharks in the season’s opener in Durban on Saturday.

Regular captain Pierre Spies will lead a team on the field with a number of players on debut and a number of others with only a handful of caps, but will also have the luxury of Victor Matfield on the bench.

Matfield will join former Sharks AJ Venter en John Smit in becoming the most capped South African Vodacom Super Rugby players and will play in his 125th match at this level.

Deon Stegmann (groin) failed a fitness test on Wednesday and was not considered, which will give Jono Ross a starting opportunity in the number 6 jersey. His fellow flanker, Jacques du Plessis, will play in the number seven jersey for the first time after an appearance at lock in his Super Rugby debut in 2013.

Springbok scrumhalf Piet van Zyl, who joined from the Toyota Cheetahs, will play off the bench, as will Jacques Engelbrecht, who joined from the Southern Kings.

The Vodacom Bulls team to play the Cell C Sharks (with Super Rugby caps) is:

Jurgen Visser (11), Akona Ndungane (96), JJ Engelbrecht (33), Jan Serfontein (12), Bjorn Basson (55), Louis Fouchè (21), Francois Hougaard (56), Pierre Spies (c, 102), Jacques du Plessis (1), Jono Ross (4), Flip van der Merwe (63), Paul Willemse (5), Werner Kruger (92), Callie Visagie (23), Dean Greyling (38). Replacements: Bongi Mbonambi (2), Frik Kirsten (31), Marcel van der Merwe (3), Victor Matfield (124), Jacques Engelbrecht (14), Piet van Zyl (32), Handrè Pollard (0), Ulrich Beyers (0).

2015 Community Cup Qualifying - Limpopo Boet Fick & Waterberg Leagues
Friday, August 01 2014
20:00 - Potgietersrus vs Northam
2015 Community Cup Qualifying - Border Super League
21:00 - Old Selbornians vs All Blacks
Kempston Park, East London
Absa Under 19 Competition
Saturday, August 02 2014
11:00 - Leopards U19 vs EP Kings U19
Profert Olen Park, Potch
Vodacom Super Rugby
LIVE SCORING 11:40 - Waratahs vs Crusaders
ANZ Stadium, Sydney
Absa Under 21 Competition
12:30 - Leopards U21 vs Border U21
Profert Olen Park, Potch
Inter Provincial Women B
15:00 - Griquas vs Pumas
Nababeep Stadium, Springbok
2015 Community Cup Qualifying - Mpumalanga Leagues
15:30 - Sasol vs Shumba Ferros
Puma Stadium, Witbank
2015 Community Cup Qualifying - KZN Fidelity Security Moor Cup
15:30 - SA Home Loans Durban Collegians vs Jonsson College Rovers
Kings Park 10, Durban
15:30 - Varsity College vs FNB UKZN Impi
Riverside Sports, Durban North
15:30 - Motswako Pietermaritzburg Collegians vs Zululand Rhinos
Woodburn Stadium, Pietermaritzburg

Copyright 2011 - SARU. All Rights Reserved.