Boks Sevens face Euro trio at Gold Coast
September 12, 2013
The Springbok Sevens will kick off the new HSBC Sevens World Series against a trio of European opponents England, France and Spain following the draw for the Gold Coast Sevens on 12-13 October, which the International Rugby Board announced earlier on Wednesday.

As defending HSBC Sevens World Series champions, New Zealand head Pool A in Australia and will face Kenya, USA and regional qualifiers Tonga, who are the only non-core team.

Last season's runners-up South Africa line up top of Pool B The Springbok Sevens won three tournament titles on their way to securing second spot on the standings, whilst they also captured the gold medal at the World Games in Colombia.

Defending Gold Coast champions Fiji head Pool C and face matches against Wales, Canada and Portugal.

As the fourth-ranked team in 2012/13, the Samoans are the top seed in Pool D and face hosts Australia, Argentina and Scotland.

The IRB's new General Manager for Rugby Sevens, Avan Lee believes that the Gold Coast event marks the start of the three most important seasons for the sport.

"This is a pivotal time for Rugby Sevens with three years until our debut at the Olympic Games and the Gold Coast is an exciting and eye-catching place for the HSBC Sevens World Series to kick off," said Lee.

"The Series is growing as a sporting brand all the time, attracting hundreds of thousands through the turnstiles around the world and millions more on TV. Working with the Australian Rugby Union and the eight other hosts I'm sure we're in for another superb season."

South Africa will host Round 3 on the weekend of 7-8 December when the Cell C Nelson Mandela Bay Sevens take place in the Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium in Port Elizabeth.

Tickets for the showpiece in Port Elizabeth are now available at all Computicket, Shoprite and Checkers outlets country wide, or visit to buy tickets online. Ticket prices range from R50 to R150.

For Round 1 of the HSBC Sevens World Series 2013/14, the Gold Coast Sevens, teams were placed and banded based on the final standings of the 2012/2013 Series.

1. New Zealand
2. South Africa
3. Fiji
4. Samoa
5. Kenya
6. England
7. Wales
8. Australia
9. France
10. Argentina
11. USA
12. Canada
13. Scotland
14. Portugal
15. Spain
* Tonga are the regional qualifier for the FORU (Oceania) region

Vodacom Super Rugby
Friday, May 29 2015
LIVE SCORING 11:40 - Brumbies vs Vodacom Bulls
GIO Stadium, Canberra
19:10 - Cell C Sharks vs Rebels
Growthpoint KINGS PARK, Durban
2015 Golden Lions Pirates Grand Challenge
21:00 - Pirates vs Randfontein
2015 Western Province Super League
21:00 - SK Walmers vs Tygerberg
Vodacom Super Rugby
Saturday, May 30 2015
09:35 - Highlanders vs Chiefs
Rugby Park, Invercargill
11:40 - Force vs Reds
nib Stadium, Perth
Vodacom Cup
14:10 - Western Province vs Pumas
DHL Newlands Rugby Stadium, CT

Copyright 2011 - SARU. All Rights Reserved.