I&J win SARU SA Fish Factory Industry title
October 28, 2012
I&J romped to victory in the 25th annual SARU SA Fish Factory Industry tournament in the West Coast town of Velddrif on Saturday, beating local favourites Club Mykonos 33-25 in the final to claim the title.

Mykonos, who advanced to the final thanks to a 50-metre penalty after the hooter in their semi-final against Gansbaai, were unable to contain a classy I&J side in a match played in front of a crowd of 2,000 at the Smit sports grounds.

The final was the culmination of two days of competition between 15 fishing industry teams, some of them travelling from as far afield as Gansbaai and Port Nolloth.

“The Fish Factory tournament has come a long way since it was first staged in Saldanha way back in 1987,” said SARU General Manager: Development, Mervin Green. “The players wait all year to come to Velddrif and the camaraderie I've witnessed this year is truly something special.

“We as SARU are committed to ensuring the tournament continues to provide these players with an opportunity to play with and against their fishing industry colleagues, and I would also like to thank the Boland Rugby Union for once again doing an excellent job of hosting the event.”

West Point claimed the Plate title thanks to a drop goal that bisected the uprights as the final hooter sounded, while Marine Products and Oranjevis won the Bowl and Shield finals respectively.

The organisers also announced an SA Fishing Industry squad to play a curtain-raiser to the Regent Boland Kavaliers vs DHL Stormers pre-season match in Wellington on 9 February 2013.

SA Fishing Industry Team: 15 Bennie Cloete (Port Nolloth), 14 Samuel Claasen (Elands Bay), 13 Vernon Losper (Sea Harvest), 12 Wesly Karolus (Pioneer), 11 Glendin Achillis (Oceana), 10 Wessily van Rooyen (Oceana), 9 Steward Collison (Cerebos A), 8 Reagon Talmakkies (Oceana), 7 Granville Jantjies (Pioneer), 6 Malcome Esau (Pioneer), 5 Ricardo Bratt (Marine Products), 4 Marco Talmakkies (West Point), 3 Brent Seagers (Cerebos A), 2 George Taylor (Elands Bay), 1 Raynold Mathison (Club Mykonos). Replacements: 16 Anthony Galant (Oceana), 17 Brain Hess (Gansbaai), 18 Sijongile Joya (Oceana), 19 Divan Jansen (Doringbaai), 20 Winston Albrecht (Sea Harvest), 21 Cheslin Linde (Oceana), 22 Joshua Ocks (Club Mykonos), 23 Bevin Talmakkies (Oceana), 24 William Swart (Gansbaai), Donavan du Toit (Club Mykonos).

2012 SARU SA Fish Factory Industry tournament team: 15 Marvin Huysamen, 14 Shavin Papier (Vital Connection), 13 Paul Dietrich (Cerebos B), 12 Ashley Esau (Club Mykonos), 11 Angelino Benjamin (West Point), 10 Dashtin Wellman (Vital Connection), 9 Jean Papier (Vital Connection), 8 Brainlee Raman (Port Nolloth), 7 Tersius Nel (Elands Bay), 6 Vincent Roberts (West Point), 5 Sibastian Joshua (Port Nolloth), 4 Phil Goliath (Marine Products), 3 Neil Karolus (Pioneer), 2 Carlisle Blake (Club Mykonos), 1 Denver Williams (Marine Products). Replacements: 16 Divan Joshua (Gansbaai), 17 Eclaude Coetzee (Club Mykonos), 18 Maurice Reed (West Point), 19 Jan Phyfer (Vital Connection B), 20 Carlo George (Cerebos B), 21 Emile Smith (Gansbaai), 22 Jamery Carelse (Gansbaai), 23 Richard Burnett (Port Nolloth), 24 Guido Kotze (Pioneer), 25 Marcello Don (Cerebos A).

Coaches for both sides: Heinther Adonis (Oceana Brands), William Maya (Sea Harvest). Managers: White Nero (Elands Bay), Llewellyn Owies (Oceana Brands).

2015 Community Cup Qualifying - KZN Fidelity Security Moor Cup
Thursday, July 24 2014
20:00 - FNB UKZN Impi vs SA Home Loans Durban Collegians
Peter Booysen Park, UKZN Pietermaritzburg Campus
Inter Provincial Women B
Friday, July 25 2014
12:00 - Leopards vs Griquas
Profert Olen Park, Potch
2015 Community Cup Qualifying - Mpumalanga Leagues
Saturday, July 26 2014
00:00 - Winner QF1 vs Winner QF3
2014 Commonwealth Games
09:32 - New Zealand vs Canada
Vodacom Super Rugby
09:35 - Crusaders vs Cell C Sharks
AMI Stadium, Addington, Christchurch
2014 Commonwealth Games
09:54 - Australia vs Sri Lanka
10:16 - Kenya vs Cook Islands
11:00 - Wales vs Malaysia

Copyright 2011 - SARU. All Rights Reserved.