Goosen, Kitshoff, Du Toit nucleus of powerful SA U20 JWC squad
April 25, 2012

Vodacom Blue Bulls flank Wian Liebenberg will lead a powerful SA Under-20 team at the IRB Junior World Championship 2012 in Cape Town, the South African Rugby Union announced on Tuesday.

SARU named the 28-man squad during a midday media conference held at the Stellenbosch Academy of Sport.

Vodacom Cheetahs flyhalf Johan Goosen, DHL Stormers prop Steven Kitshoff, MTN Lions lock Paul Willemse, Pieter-Steph du Toit (lock) and Paul Jordaan (centre, both The Sharks) are the five squad members who have all played in the demanding 2012 Vodacom Super Rugby competition.

The trio of Jordaan, William Small-Smith (centre) and Tshotsho Mbovane (wing) also boast international experience, having represented the Springbok Sevens in the HSBC Sevens World Series.

Several squad members also played Varsity Cup and Vodacom Cup rugby, while Marvin Orie led the Tuks Under-20 team to success in the Varsity Cup Young Guns competition.

Flyhalf Tony Jantjies is the younger brother of Elton, the Springbok pivot. Last week the younger Jantjies helped the SA U20 training squad to 2-0 series win over Argentina.

Dawie Theron, the SA U20 coach, said he was pleased with the squad and confident that the group of promising players will be able to stand up to the challenge of their formidable opponents.

“This is the best available group of players and I am delighted with the composition of the group. We are mindful of the fact that we did not perform to our potential last year, so that, and the fact that we are playing at home will obviously add to the pressure. The JWC is the pinnacle of a young player’s career and they will be determined to give it their best effort in front of our home fans,” added Theron.

The squad assembles on 24 May in Cape Town for a holding camp.

The SA U20 JWC group fixtures are as follow:
Mon 4 June SA vs. Ireland (Danie Craven Stadium, 19h00)
Friday 8 June SA vs. Italy (UWC Stadium, 19h00)
Tue 12 June SA vs. England (Danie Craven Stadium, 19h00)

The full South Africa Under-20 squad for the Junior World Championship:

Surname Name Position Provincial Union
Leyds Dillyn Fullback Western Province
Schmidt Marais Fullback Golden Lions
Ismaiel Travis Wing Blue Bulls
Jordaan Paul Wing Kwazulu-Natal
Mbovane Tshotsho Wing Western Province
Hammond Dean Wing Western Province
Howard Pat Centre Western Province
Serfontein Jan Centre Blue Bulls
Small-Smith William Centre Blue Bulls
Goosen Johan Flyhalf Free State
Jantjies Tony Flyhalf Blue Bulls
Griesel Abrie Scrumhalf Blue Bulls
Luiters Kevin Scrumhalf Free State
Adendorff Shaun Flank Blue Bulls
Booysen Fabian Flank Golden Lions
Majola Khaya Flank KwaZulu-Natal
Liebenberg (captain) Wian Flank Blue Bulls
Steyn Braam Flank KwaZulu-Natal
Du Toit Pieter-Steph Lock KwaZulu-Natal
Orie Marvin Lock Blue Bulls
Botha Ruan Lock Golden Lions
Willemse Paul Lock Golden Lions
Dell Allan Prop KwaZulu-Natal
Kebble Oliver Prop Western Province
Kitshoff Steven Prop Western Province
Van Dyk Nicolaas Prop KwaZulu-Natal
Pretorius Mark Hooker Golden Lions
Thomas Jason Hooker Blue Bulls

Absa Under 19 Competition
Saturday, August 30 2014
10:30 - Griquas U19 vs Valke U19
GWK Park, Kimberley
11:00 - Leopards U19 vs Sharks U19
Profert Olen Park, Potch
Absa Under 21 Competition
12:00 - Griquas U21 vs Valke U21
GWK Park, Kimberley
Absa Under 19 Competition
12:15 - Boland U19 vs Pumas U19
Boland Stadium, Wellington
Absa Under 21 Competition
12:30 - Leopards U21 vs Sharks U21
Profert Olen Park, Potch
Absa Under 19 Competition
13:00 - Blue Bulls U19 vs WP U19
Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria
13:00 - Free State U19 vs Golden Lions U19
Old Greys Rugby Field, Bloemfontein
Absa Under 21 Competition
14:00 - Boland U21 vs Pumas U21
Boland Stadium, Wellington
14:45 - Blue Bulls U21 vs WP U21
Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria
14:45 - Free State U21 vs Golden Lions U21
Old Greys Rugby Field, Bloemfontein

Copyright 2011 - SARU. All Rights Reserved.