Bulls U21s run riot, WP and Sharks start with wins
July 13, 2014
The Vodacom Blue Bulls demolished Border 143-0 in the opening Absa Under-21 Provincial Championship match of the season, while DHL WP and the Cell C Sharks also scored good wins over Toyota Free State and Leopards.

The Blue Bulls scored 21 tries in a totally one-sided match and Border will have to regroup very quickly if they are to provide any competitive resistance to the rest of the teams in the A-Division.

Defending champions Western Province needed a hat-tick of tries by captain Eital Bredenkamp to get past Free State. The Sharks started powerfully against an ill-disciplined Leopards side and laid the foundation of their bonus point win in the first 40 minutes of their clash in Durban on Friday.

A review of the Absa Under-21 Provincial Championship follows:

DHL Western Province 20 (5), Toyota Free State 17 (10)

Western Province had to dig deep to overcome a spirited Free State side at City Park Stadium on Saturday. The visitors had all the early play in the match and prevented the highly rated home side to get into any sort of rhythem. The Free State took the lead via a penalty by Ruan Potgieter in the opening minutes and extended their advantage with a try at the 20 minute mark.

Province had few chances, but flanker Eital Bredenkamp scored the first of his three tries just before the break to give the home side some impetus.

The Province captain was at hand to score two more after the break and give his side the lead.Unfortunately flyhalf Jaco Gunther kicked poorly and missed all five attempts at goal and it nearly cost his team as the Free State struck back with a converted try to take the lead after 60 minutes of play.

Winger Lihleli Xoli came to the rescue of the home side by scoring the match winner in the 73rd minute.


Western Province 20 (5).Tries: Eital Bredenkamp (3), Lihleli Xoli.
Free State 17 (10). Tries: Tertius Kruger, Tienie Burger. Conversions: Ruan Potgieter (2). Penalty: Potgieter.

Vodacom Blue Bulls 143 (63), Border 0 (0).

It was an absolute massacre at Loftus Versfeld on Friday afternoon as the Vodacom Blue Bulls demolished the Border 143-0, scoring 21 tries in a totally one sided affair.

The visitors had no answer to the relentless attack of the home side, who scored at will.The Blue BUlls scored nine first half tries, with Border only have one unsuccessful penalty attempt at goal to show for their efforts.

The second half was even worse for the visitors as they conceded 12 more tries. Lock Jannes Kirsten scored a hat-trick.


Blue Bulls 143 (63). Tries: Tries: Christiaan de Bruin, Dan Kriel, Dennis Visser, Ganfried May, Jacques Rossouw (2), Jade Stighling (2), Jan Enslin, Jannes Kirsten (3), Joshua Stander (2), JP Smith, Kefentse Mahlo (2), Marquit September (2), Neethling Fouche (2). Conversion: Kobus Marais (7), Joshua Stander (12).
Border 0 (0).

Cell C Sharks 37 (23), Leopards 17 (0)

It was a match of two halves in Durban as the Sharks started their season with a great opening 40 minutes, but then fell away as the Leopards came back strongly in the second.

The home side scored 23 unanswered points in the opening half as the Leopards conceded a number of penalties and a yellow card. Jean-Luc du Plessis kept the scoreboard ticking with accurate penalties.

The second half saw the Leopards coming into the game much better, but after the home side scored their fourth try to get the bonus point, once sensed that it was all over. The Leopards scored their third try late in the half and just could not get close enough to get any bonus points out of the match.


Cell C Sharks 37 (23).Tries: Alcino Izaacs, Matthew Jones, Thembalethu Williams, Tyler Fisher. Conversions: Jean-Luc Du Plessis (3), Jean Pretorius. Penalties: Jean-Luc Du Plessis (3).
Leopards 17 (0). Tries: Dean Stokes, Mark Reinecke, Ryno Smith.Conversion: JJ du Plessis.

Vodacom Super Rugby
Saturday, February 28 2015
08:35 - Chiefs vs Crusaders
Waikato Stadium, Hamilton
10:40 - Rebels vs Brumbies
AAMI Park, Melbourne
Cell C Community Cup
14:15 - College Rovers vs Noordelikes
KP10, Kings Park, Durban
14:30 - Hamiltons vs Wanderers
Stephan Oval, Green Point
16:00 - PE Police vs Old Selbornians
Kemsley Park, Port Elizabeth
16:00 - Durbanville-Bellville vs Springs
Durbanville-Bellville Rugby Club
16:00 - Bfn Crusaders vs Pretoria Police
Clive Solomon Stadium, Bloemfontein
16:00 - Villagers Worcester vs Sishen
Boland Park, Worcester
16:00 - Despatch vs Wesbank
WJ de Wet Stadium, Despatch
16:00 - Durban Collegians vs Rovers Welkom
KP10, Kings Park, Durban

Copyright 2011 - SARU. All Rights Reserved.