Emerging Springboks clinch IRB Nations Cup
June 16, 2007
The Emerging Springboks claimed the IRB Nations Cup after recording a well-taken 24-10 victory over Argentina A at the Arcul de Triumf stadium in Bucharest on Saturday.

Both sides had gone into the final with unbeaten records in the six nation tournament, the Emerging Springboks sitting atop the standings only by virtue of their better points differential, helped greatly by a 61-7 opening win over Romania.

The Emerging Springboks, coached by Pieter de Villiers and Jerome Paarwater, were relentless in their pursuit of their main objective, stamping their class on the proceedings as they outplayed the gallant Argentina A side in a match of great intensity and skill.

It was the South Africans' pace, speed of thought and explosive strength, both in attack and in defence, that made the difference between success and failure.

The heroes, in a team renowned for its spirit and togetherness, were Zimbabwean-born wing Tonderai Chavhanga, who scored two tries, and the elegant conductor Peter Grant.

Grant kicked three penalties, one drop-goal and the conversion to Chavhanga's try in the victory, with his opposite number Santiago Fernandez kicking a penalty and converting second row Diego Stuart's try for Argentina A.

The IRB Nations Cup trophy was presented to the winning captain Schalk Brits by the chairman of the Romanian Olympic Committee Octavian Morariu, a former Romanian international player, assisted by the George Straton, president of the Romanian Federation, and the IRB Head of Rugby Services Mark Egan.

The scorers:

For Argentina A:
Try: Stuart
Con: Fernandez
Pen: Fernandez

For Emerging Springboks:

Try: Chavanga 2
Con: Grant
Pens: Grant 2
Drop: Grant

Yellow card(s): Ndungane (Emerging Springboks), Fessia (Argentina A).

The teams:

Emerging Springboks: 15 Bevin Fortuin, 14 Odwa Ndungane, 13 Jaco Pretorius, 12 Bradley Barritt, 11 Tonderai Chavhanga, 10 Peter Grant, 9 Heini Adams, 8 Ernst Joubert, 7 Hilton Lobberts, 6 Kabamba Floors, 5 Ross Skeate, 4 Wilhelm Steenkamp, 3 Eddie Andrews, 2 Schalk Brits (captain), 1 Heine van der Merwe.
Replacements: 16 Ashton Constant, 17 Bandise Maku, 18 Mxoli Songoni, 19 Nikolai Blignaut, 20 Jano Vermaak, 21 Louis Ludik, 22 Marius Delport, 23 Meyer Bosman, 24 Jonathan Mokuena, 25 Solly Tyibilika, 26 Howard Noble.

Argentina A: 15 Bernardo Stortoni (captain), 14 Roman Miralles, 13 Pablo Gomez Cora, 12 Juan Ignacio Gauthier, 11 Gonzalo Camacho, 10 Santiago Fernandez, 9 Alfredo Lalanne, 8 Miguel Achaval, 7 Genaro Fessia, 6 Santiago Sanz, 5 Pablo Bouza, 4 Diego Stuart, 3 Pablo Cardinali, 2 Javier Caratti, 1 Daniel Rodriguez.
Replacements: 16 Matias Cortese, 17 Francisco Lecot, 18 Francisco Gomez Codela, 19 Felipe Aranguren, 20 Jaime Arocena, 21 Lucio Lopez Fleming, 22 Santiago Bottini, 23 Gabriel Ascarate, 24 Federico Amelong, 25 Francisco Merello.

Absa Under 19 Competition
Friday, September 05 2014
17:00 - EP Kings U19 vs Sharks U19
NMMU Stadium, PE
Absa Under 21 Competition
18:00 - Border U21 vs Sharks U21
BCM Stadium, East London
Absa Currie Cup Premier Division
19:10 - DHL Western Province vs EP Kings
DHL Newlands, Cape Town
The Castle Lager Rugby Championship
Saturday, September 06 2014
09:35 - New Zealand vs Argentina
McLean Park, Napier
Absa Under 19 Competition
11:00 - Free State U19 vs Leopards U19
Free State Stadium, Bloemfontein
11:45 - Griffons U19 vs Boland U19
North West Stadium, Welkom
12:00 - Valke U19 vs SWD U19
Barnard Stadium, Kempton Park
The Castle Lager Rugby Championship
12:05 - Australia vs South Africa
Patersons Stadium, Perth
2015 Community Cup Qualifying - Regional Play-Offs
12:45 - Leopards 2 (Vaal Reefs) vs Valke 2 (Brakpan)
Olen Park, Potchefstroom
Absa Under 21 Competition
13:00 - Free State U21 vs Leopards U21
Free State Stadium, Bloemfontein

Copyright 2011 - SARU. All Rights Reserved.