Three new caps for Scotland against Boks
June 13, 2013
After fielding six debutants in last weekend’s Test against Samoa, Scotland have named three more new caps in their team to play South Africa at Nelspruit on Saturday.

They are (pictured above) the Glasgow Warriors trio, full-back Peter Murchie, 27; lock forward Tim Swinson, 26; and 24-year-old wing Tommy Seymour.

They are among seven changes in the starting line-up from the 17-27 loss in Durban as head coach Scott Johnson adheres firmly to his policy of broadening the base of players within the international set-up, while at the same time dealing with a number of injuries.

The other changes see Ruaridh Jackson return at stand-off, his first start since Scotland’s RBS 6 Nations Championship victory over Ireland in February as Tom Heathcote is given the week off after his concussion against Samoa; two injury-enforced switches, which see Scott Lawson at hooker for Pat MacArthur and Ryan Wilson, making his first start for Scotland, instead of Kelly Brown at openside; and a new boilerhouse combination with Swinson locking with Jim Hamilton.

Greig Laidlaw, who has skippered Edinburgh Rugby, takes over the leadership duties for the injured Brown, thus becoming Scotland’s 113th Test match captain.

A further three changes are made on the bench involving Jon Welsh, Alastair Kellock and David Denton.

Scott Johnson told “I’m hard pressed to remember so many injuries from the one Test match but it’s a fact and we just have to get on with it.

“I’d said from before we left Scotland that we wanted to find out about players through this tour and, perhaps, because of circumstances, some of that is being accelerated.

“But there’s no doubt for me that our three new caps, for example, have had strong seasons for Glasgow and have worked really diligently on the training fields out here to earn their chance.

“We’ve faced South Africa a fair bit in the last decade and right now they’re the second best team in the world, playing on their own paddock, and with a win against Italy already under their belts.

“We have to be competitive and, once again, I’ll reiterate that we have to get our accuracy and aggression 100% at breakdown to give ourselves the opportunity.”

Scotland team (sponsor RBS) to play South Africa

15 Peter Murchie (uncapped)
14 Tommy Seymour (Glasgow Warriors) uncapped
13 Alex Dunbar (Glasgow Warriors) 1 cap
12 Matt Scott (Edinburgh Rugby) 13 caps, 1 try, 5 points
11 Sean Lamont (Glasgow Warriors) 77 caps, 10 tries, 50 points
10 Ruaridh Jackson (Glasgow Warriors) 20 caps, 3 conversions, 2 penalties, 2 drop-goals, 18 points
9 Greig Laidlaw (Edinburgh Rugby) CAPTAIN 19 caps, 2 tries, 16 conversions, 43 penalties, 171 points
1 Alasdair Dickinson (Edinburgh Rugby) 25 caps, 1 try, 5 points
2 Scott Lawson (Newcastle Falcons) 36 caps, 2 tries, 10 points
3 Euan Murray (Worcester Warriors) 54 caps, 2 tries, 10 points
4 Tim Swinson (Glasgow Warriors) uncapped
5 Jim Hamilton (Gloucester) 47 caps, 1 try, 5 points
6 Alasdair Strokosch (Perpignan) vice-captain 33 caps, 1 try, 5 points
7 Ryan Wilson (Glasgow Warriors) 3 caps
8 Johnnie Beattie (Montpellier) 22 caps, 3 tries, 15 points
16 Stevie Lawrie (Edinburgh Rugby) 1 cap
17 Jon Welsh (Glasgow Warriors) 1 cap
18 Moray Low (Glasgow Warriors) 19 caps
19 Alastair Kellock (Glasgow Warriors) 53 caps, 1 try, 5 points
20 David Denton (Edinburgh Rugby) 12 caps
21 Henry Pyrgos (Glasgow Warriors) 7 caps, 1 try, 5 points
22 Peter Horne (Glasgow Warriors) 1 cap
23 Duncan Taylor (Saracens) 1 cap

Absa Under 19 Competition
Saturday, September 20 2014
10:45 - WP U19 vs EP Kings U19
City Park Stadium, Cape Town
11:00 - Leopards U19 vs Blue Bulls U19
Profert Olen Park, Potch
11:00 - SWD U19 vs Boland U19
Outeniqua Park, George
11:20 - Valke U19 vs Griffons U19
Barnard Stadium, Kempton Park
Absa Under 21 Competition
12:30 - Leopards U21 vs Blue Bulls U21
Profert Olen Park, Potch
12:30 - EP Kings U21 vs Griquas U21
Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium, PE
12:45 - WP U21 vs Border U21
City Park Stadium, Cape Town
12:45 - Valke U21 vs Griffons U21
Barnard Stadium, Kempton Park
Absa Currie Cup First Division
13:00 - SWD Eagles vs Boland Cavaliers
Outeniqua Park, George
Absa Under 19 Competition
13:30 - Pumas U19 vs Limpopo BB U19
Kees Taljaard Stadium, Middelburg

Copyright 2011 - SARU. All Rights Reserved.