Six book spots in Cell C Community Cup Easter play-offs
March 31, 2014
SIX clubs, including first-timers Hamiltons and Kempston Old Selbornians, have booked their places in next month's Cell C Community Cup Easter play-offs after a penultimate round of pool action that saw numerous title contenders pull away from the chasing pack.

From Pool A, defending champions Gap Management Despatch will be joined in the last eight by Old Selbornians, who needed a last-gasp breakout try from wing Bradley Birkholtz to eliminate Mossel Bay Barbarians 30-20 in front of 2,700 fans at D'Almeida Stadium.

Last year's runners-up, Jonsson College Rovers, ensured they would finish top of Pool B after a hard-fought 41-20 win over fellow qualifiers Roodepoort, with former Springbok wing Jongi Nokwe re-emerging from an injury layoff with two tries.

And in Pool D, qualifiers Hamiltons and Impala will fight it out for top spot in Rustenburg this weekend after big wins over Shumba Ferros and Wesbank respectively.

But all eyes will be on Pool C on Saturday as Roses United, Refreshhh! Centurion and G5 Metals Brakpan slug it out for the last two places on offer.

Unbeaten Roses hold a one-point lead over their rivals and are in pole position to qualify for George, where SARU's national championship for non-university clubs reaches its climax over the Easter long weekend, from 17-21 April. Roses however will need to beat bottom-placed BB Truck Noordelikes to not only be assured of their place but also to finish top. Adding spice to the permutations is that Centurion, who were impressive in their 58-20 victory over Kaufela Boksburg, will be at home against Brakpan – last year's bronze medallists and one of the pre-tournament favourites. And while the identity of the qualifiers from the other three pools is known, the make-up of the quarter-finals is still unclear as it is only College Rovers who are assured of finishing top.

Despatch will travel to East London to face Old Selbornians on Saturday, with the loser set to face Rovers in the last eight, while there will be equally high stakes in the Hamiltons vs Impala showdown.

Full Results, Round 4:

Pool A:

Mossel Bay Barbarians (3) 20 – Tries: Jerome Fillies, Morne Buis. Conversions: Buis (2). Penalties: Buis (2). Kempston Old Selbornians (20) 30 – Tries: Bradley Birkholtz, Lindani Gulwa, Peter Smith, Sinethemba Tyokolwana. Conversions: Warren Rielly (2). Penalties: Rielly (2).

Bridgton (10) 17 – Tries: Hadley Arries, Rhupino Plaatjies. Conversions: Adriaan Booysen (2). Penalty: Booysen. Spring Rose (10) 20 – Tries: Gugu Makwabe, Bongani Ngqolombe. Conversions: Pumezo Tom (2). Penalties: Tom (2).

Pool B:

Roodepoort (6) 20 – Tries: Andre Esterhuizen, Jesse Geyer. Conversions: Hennie Oosthuizen (2). Penalties: Oosthuizen (2). Jonsson College Rovers (15) 41 – Tries: Matthew Phillips, Kirk Twine, Jongi Nokwe (2), Dusty Noble, Chris Micklewood. Conversions: Micklewood, Jors Dannhauser (3). Penalty: Dannhauser.

Eagle Towing Rovers (19) 40 – Tries: Thembelani Mabomba, Stephan Kekana, Shaun Nieuwenhuyzen (2), LC van Tonder, Frank Mateus. Conversions: Pieter Strydom (5). E-Car Welkom (10) 16 – Try: Neill Fullagar. Conversion: Heinrich Barnard. Penalty: Malcolm-Kerr Till. Drop goals: Barnard (2).

Pool C:

Kaufela Boksburg (10) 20 – Tries: Theo Rhodes, Dean Swart. Conversions: Ashley Buchler (2). Penalties: Buchler (2). Refreshhh! Centurion (13) 58 – Tries: Christiaan Burger (3), Jacques Olivier, Quentin Horn, Stanley Twiname, Xerxes Oosthuizen. Conversions: Steven Moir (7). Penalties: Moir (3).

G5 Metals Brakpan (13) 35 – Tries: Wikus van der Berg (3), Tommy Damba (2). Conversions: Gido Horn (2). Penalties: Horn, Hein Cronje. BB Truck Noordelikes (9) 22 – Try: Gert van der Merwe. Conversion: Zander Byleveldt. Penalties: Byleveldt (5).

Pool D:

Hamiltons (45) 66 – Tries: Jandre du Plessis (2), Niel Cleghorn, Attie Winter, Jody Burch (2), Iewan Bartels, Tapiwa Tsomondo, Janno van Zyl, Charlie Purdon. Conversions: Vallender (8). Shumba Ferros (7) 12 – Tries: Jean Botha, Henson Ngozo. Conversion: Dewald Pieters.

Wesbank (7) 7 – Try: Anton Stander. Conversion: Rodville Jonkers. Rustenburg Impala (33) 50 – Tries: Zander de Kock, Willie Kok (2), Victor Joubert, Linton Terblanche, Leon du Plessis, Justin St Jerry, Jermaine Apollis. Conversions: Naas Olivier (4), Wilco de Wet.

FNB Varsity Shield presented by Steinhoff International
Monday, March 30 2015
18:30 - FNB UKZN vs FNB UFH
Howard College Rugby Stadium, Durban
18:30 - FNB UWC vs FNB WITS
UWC Sport Stadium, Bellville
FNB Varsity Cup presented by Steinhoff International
Tuks Rugby Stadium, Pretoria
Cell C Community Cup
Thursday, April 02 2015
10:00 - Hamiltons vs Wesbank
Impala Rugby Club, Rustenburg
12:00 - Durbanville-Bellville vs College Rovers
Impala Rugby Club, Rustenburg
14:00 - Despatch vs Wanderers
Impala Rugby Club, Rustenburg
16:00 - Rustenburg Impala vs Pretoria Police
Impala Rugby Club, Rustenburg
Vodacom Super Rugby
Friday, April 03 2015
08:35 - Hurricanes vs DHL Stormers
Westpac Stadium, Wellington
10:40 - Rebels vs Reds
AAMI Park, Melbourne
HSBC Sevens World Series Japan
Saturday, April 04 2015
03:00 - Fiji vs Wales
Prince Chichibu Memorial Ground, Tokyo

Copyright 2011 - SARU. All Rights Reserved.